Wednesday, 26 June 2013

Eliza And The Bear - Friends

Single review by kev@thesoundofconfusion.co.uk


When piecing together this years token list of bands to keep an eye out for we included London's Eliza And The Bear, and truth be told they were something of a wildcard entry. The reason for this being that we didn't know as much about them and their music as we did some of the other bands that made the cut. There was excellent free introduction 'Brother's Boat' which showed us that they could not only write songs, they could decorate them with all kind of orchestral bits and bobs, generally sprucing them up to become extra impressive. 'Upon The North' was another cracker in a similar vein, so that was us sold. But it's always a risk when you've only heard two or three songs.

What new single 'Friends' has told us is that we got it right. This is another big song, it's another very good song and it's also another one with some great arrangements and loads of voices singing in unison to create a tune of anthemic proportions. Listening to this track, it's easy to see that there's a route through to genuine sales success for the band too, not just being championed by a few music publications. The public need a new, decent band that can be enjoyed by all, because all the others that have made the breakthrough in the past seem to be on the wane. There's appetite there, and Eliza And The Bear might just be the ones to suppress it.



Eliza And The Bear's website

Catch them live:

Hard Rock Calling, Sat, June 29 at 12:00pm London
LeeFest Sunday, July 14 at 12:00pm South London
Lounge On The Farm Festival, Sat, July 27 at 11:00am Canterbury
The Secret Garden Party, Sun, July 28 at 11:00am Huntingdon
Leopallooza Festival, Sat, Aug 3 at 12:00pm Bude, North Cornwall
Wilderness Festival, Fri, Aug 9 at 11:00am
Shipping Forecast, Wed, Sept 4 at 7:30pm Liverpool
Night and Day, Thurs, Sept 5 at 7:30pm Manchester
Cluny 2, Fri, Sept 6 at 8:00pm Newcastle
King Tuts, Sat, Sept 7 at 8:30pm Glasgow
Oporto, Sun, Sep 8 at 7:30pm Leeds
The Sunflower Lounge, Wed, Sep 11 at 7:30pm Birmingham
The Louisiana, Thurs, Sept 12 at 7:30pm Bristol
The Borderline, Fri, Sept 13 at 7:00pm London
The Hope, Sat, Sept 14 at 8:00pm Brighton
Ponyhof Club, Thurs, Sept 26 at 8:00pm Frankfurt
Reeperbahn Festival, Fri, Sept 27 at 11:00am Hamburg
Independent Music Night, Sat, Sept 28 at 7:00pm Berlin





For more news, reviews and downloads follow The Sound Of Confusion on Facebook or Twitter

contact@thesoundofconfusion.com